New Federal Ministry and Cabinet Announced HOME > New Federal Ministry and Cabinet Announced

On Friday, the Hon Scott Morrison MP became the 30th Prime Minister of Australia following the Party room meeting of the Federal Parliamentary Liberal Party. The Hon Josh Frydenberg MP was elected Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party.

On Sunday, the leadership team announced the new Ministry and Cabinet which are listed below.

Cabinet Changes

  • Deputy Liberal Leader the Hon Josh Frydenberg MP has elected to take on the Treasury Portfolio.
  • Nationals Deputy Leader the Hon Bridget McKenzie adds Regional Services, Decentralisation and Local Government to her portfolio following the departure of Dr John McVeigh MP from the Cabinet.
  • Senator the Hon Marise Payne moves from Defence Minister to Minister for Foreign Affairs, following the Hon Julie Bishop MP’s resignation from the ministry. The Hon Christopher Pyne MP moves to become Minister for Defense.
  • Trade Minister the Hon Steven Ciobo MP moves to the Defence Industry Portfolio, while Senator Simon Birmingham moves from Education portfolio to become Minister for Trade, Tourism and Foreign Investment.
  • The Hon Kelly O’Dwyer MP becomes the Minister for Jobs and Industrial Relations, moving from Financial Services.
  • Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash becomes the Minister for Small and Family Business, Skills and Vocational Education – both of which move into Cabinet.
  • The Hon Karen Andrews MP is elevated to Cabinet as Minister for Industry, Science and Technology.
  • The Hon Dan Tehan MP shifts from the Social Services ministry to become Minister of Education.
  • The Hon Paul Fletcher MP enters Cabinet as the Minister for Families and Social Services.
  • The Hon Michael Keenan MP continues as Minister for Human Services but the portfolio is moved out of Cabinet.
  • The Hon Melissa Price MP enters Cabinet as Minister for the Environment, for which she was previously an Assistant Minister.
  • The Hon Angus Taylor MP shifts from Minister for Energy.

Outer Ministry Changes

  • The Hon Alex Hawke MP moves from Assistant Minister for Home Affairs to become Special Minister of State.
  • The Hon Alan Tudge MP replaces Paul Fletcher as Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population.
  • The Hon David Coleman MP is elevated from Assistant Minister for Finance to Minister for Immigration, Citizenship, and Multicultural Affairs.

Assistant Ministry Changes

  • The Hon Sussan Ley MP re-enters the Ministry as Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories.
  • Scott Buchholz MP enters the Ministry as Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport.
  • Steve Irons MP becomes Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister.
  • Senator the Hon Zed Seselja shifts from Assistant Minister for Science, Jobs, and Innovation to Assistant Minister for Treasury and Finance.
  • Nationals Party Whip Michelle Landry MP replaces Dr David Gillespie as Assistant Minister for Families and Children.
  • Sarah Henderson MP becomes the Assistant Minister for Social Services, Housing, and Disability.
  • Senator Linda Reynolds CSC has become Assistant Minister for Home Affairs, taking over from the Hon Alex Hawke MP.
  • Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck returns to the Ministry as Assistant Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Water Resources.
  • Andrew Broad MP has been appointed Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister, following the Hon Keith Pitt MP’s resignation.

Click here for further details.